Architectures of Operating System

Rating - 3/5

Architectures of Operating System

As and when the architecture of computer system evolves, architecture of the operating system also evolves and vice-versa.

Mainly, there are 4 types of architectures of operating system:

  1. Monolithic architecture : In the monolithic systems, each component of the operating system is contained within the kernel.

  2. Layered architecture : This is an important architecture of operating system which is meant to overcome the disadvantages of early monolithic systems

    These Topics Are Also In Your Syllabus
    1 OS Examples link
    2 Mass Storage Structure overview link
    You May Find Something Very Interesting Here. link
    3 Allocation of Frames link
    4 Allocation methods link
    5 Free Space management link
  3. Microkernel architecture : In microkernel architecture, only the most important services are put inside the kernel and rest of the OS service are present in the system application program.

  4. Hybrid architecture : Combine the best functionalities of all these approaches and hence this design is termed as the hybrid structured operating system

Rating - 3/5

Rating - 3/5