Instruction Cycle

Rating - 3/5

A program residing in the memory unit of the computer consists of a sequence of instructions. The program is executed in the computer by going through a cycle for each instruction. Each instruction cycle in turn is subdivided into a sequence of subcycles or phases. In the basic computer each instruction cycle consists of the following phases:

1. Fetch an instruction from memory.

2. Decode the instruction.

3. Read the effective address from memory if the instruction has an indirect address.

4. Execute the instruction.

These Topics Are Also In Your Syllabus
1 Instruction Codes link
2 operation code link
You May Find Something Very Interesting Here. link
3 Stored Program Organization link
4 Instruction Codes link
5 Indirect Address link

Upon the completion of step 4, the control goes back to step 1 to fetch, decode, and execute the next instruction. This process continues indefinitely unless a HALT instruction is encountered.

Rating - 3/5

Rating - 3/5